Nigerian Lady Becomes First Black President of a US College Breaks 141-Year-Old Record,
Nigerian Lady Becomes First Black President of a US College Breaks 141-Year-Old Record,

A Nigerian woman identified as Toyin Tofade has become the first black female president of the Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (ACPHS) in the United States Of America which was founded in 1881.

According to a press release last Wednesday by the college, Ms Tofade was selected to become the 10th president of the college, following a comprehensive search.

Dr Tofade is the first Black woman to serve as president of Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences in the college’s 141-year history. She begins her term on July 1, 2022,” the release said.

Read also: Nigerian Female Graduate Who Rides Keke Shares Her Story


Christopher Di Lascia who chaired the presidential search committee said, “Dr Tofade possesses all the qualities desired, including her deep commitment to academic quality, scholarship, and service, as well as a proven track record of successful management and resource development…”

In accepting her new role, Ms Tofade reportedly said, “It is an honour to be selected for this distinguished role by the Board of Trustees at Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.”

“My sincere thanks go to Howard University’s provost and president for their leadership, ongoing support, and mentorship over the years, the entire Howard University College of Pharmacy for their dedication to excellence and leadership, my distinguished colleagues for making Howard a great place to work, and my family for their unwavering support. I am grateful to God for this new opportunity, and I look forward to serving the ACPHS community as president.”

Ms Tofade received a Bachelor of Pharmacy from the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria, a master’s degree in pharmacy practice and a Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degree both from UNC Chapel Hill in 1994 and 1997, respectively.

She completed a residency with emphasis on clinical pharmacokinetics in 1994 from UNC Chapel Hill, and an American Society of Health-System Pharmacy-accredited residency in 1995 at UNC hospitals.

In 2008, she was named Wake AHEC Mentor of the Year and was recognised by the internal medicine teaching service for her continued excellence and dedication to the internal medicine resident and student lecture. In 2016, she received an award for Excellence and Distinction in medicine and health from the Christian Association for Nigerian Americans.

She has received numerous awards, including the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP) 2022 Board of Directors’ Donald E. Francke Medal which honours pharmacists who have made significant international contributions to advance pharmacy practice.

In 2021, her alma mater, University of North Carolina (UNC) Eshelman School of Pharmacy, honoured her with the Pharmacy Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award.

YOU MAY ALSO WANT TO READ: “Delay isn’t denial” – Says graduates with a first-class degree after two extra years


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here